TL;DR
Get business pricing on your home office setup
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
AT&T has added Gemini for Home features to its Connected Life security system, including camera-event descriptions, natural-language video search and daily activity summaries. The AI features require AT&T’s professional monitoring plan, which costs $29.99 per month.
AT&T’s Connected Life home security system now works with Gemini for Home, adding AI tools that can describe camera events, search recorded video in response to natural-language questions and summarize daily activity. AT&T says the features are available only to customers on its $29.99-a-month professional monitoring plan.
With the update, Gemini for Home can provide more detailed descriptions of events captured by Connected Life security cameras. The source report gives the example of identifying who delivered a package and how many items were dropped off. Users can also ask questions about recorded footage in everyday language, such as “What dug up the yard last night?” or “Who let the dogs out?”
The system can also produce daily summaries of activity inside and outside the home. The report does not specify how long footage is retained, whether the summaries are generated automatically or on request, or which Connected Life camera models support each feature.
AT&T is also adding an option to arm or disarm the system based on a user’s proximity to home. That is a separate security-system capability described alongside the Gemini features. The source does not detail how proximity is detected, how users configure the setting, or what safeguards are available to prevent unwanted changes.
AI Search Comes to Home Security
The integration gives Connected Life customers a way to find activity in recorded video by describing what they are looking for, rather than relying only on manual review or event-by-event alerts. For households with frequent camera recordings, natural-language search and daily summaries could make it easier to locate a particular event. The examples provided are feature descriptions, not evidence that the system will identify every person or event accurately.
Access comes with a recurring cost: AT&T ties these features to its professional monitoring plan at $29.99 per month. That means the AI functions are not presented as a standalone camera upgrade or as an included feature for all Connected Life customers. The plan requirement may shape who can use the tools and how customers weigh them against the cost of monitoring.
The proximity-based arming option also connects a home’s security state to a user’s location. That may reduce the need to remember to change settings when leaving or returning, but the report does not explain how the feature handles multiple household members, location permissions or exceptions. Those details matter because automatic security changes can affect who can enter and when.
Products Worth Considering

eufy Security Video Doorbell E340, Dual Cameras, 2K FHD, 8GB Local Storage

Philips Hue Festavia 130-Foot Indoor/Outdoor Smart String Lights, 500 Color-Changing LEDs

Ring Alarm 5-Piece Wireless Security System
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Connected Life’s Google Partnership
AT&T launched Connected Life in December, in partnership with Google and Abode, according to the source report. The new capabilities use Google’s Gemini-powered Home APIs, which allow smart-home companies and developers to build AI features into connected devices and services.
AT&T describes Connected Life as the “first” home security product to integrate with Google Home Premium. That is the company’s characterization as reported by The Verge; the source material does not independently establish the comparison. The report also says ADT has hinted at bringing Gemini for Home features to its own security systems, but gives no launch date or confirmed feature list for ADT.
““What dug up the yard last night?””
— Gemini for Home, in an example prompt reported by The Verge
Feature Access and Rollout Details
The source report does not specify when the features will reach customers, whether access is rolling out gradually, or whether any additional equipment is required. It also does not give technical details about supported cameras, video storage, retention periods, data processing or whether users can disable particular AI functions.
Accuracy is also not quantified. The examples describe what the tools are intended to do, but no performance data or error rates are provided. AT&T’s “first” claim is attributed to the company, and the report supplies no independent comparison of other security products. The proximity-based arming feature’s location and household controls remain unspecified as well.
Availability and Setup Details
AT&T Connected Life customers will need to check the service’s current app or account information for availability and setup instructions, since the source report does not provide a rollout timetable or a step-by-step activation process. Customers should also confirm whether their existing equipment and subscription qualify before relying on the new functions.
Further details from AT&T or Google could clarify supported devices, privacy controls, video retention and the operation of location-based arming. The source report also notes that ADT has hinted at a similar Gemini for Home integration, but no launch timing or confirmed capabilities for that service are available yet.
Key Questions
What does Gemini for Home add to AT&T Connected Life?
It adds camera-event descriptions, natural-language searches of recorded footage and daily activity summaries. AT&T is also adding an option to arm or disarm the system based on proximity to home.
How much does the plan with Gemini features cost?
The source report says the features are available only with AT&T’s professional Connected Life monitoring plan, priced at $29.99 per month. It does not describe other plan options or additional fees.
Can users search their camera recordings with ordinary questions?
Yes. The reported examples include asking what dug up the yard or who let the dogs out. The report does not provide accuracy figures or say which camera models support the search.
When will the new features be available?
The source report does not give a specific rollout date or explain whether availability varies by customer, location or equipment. AT&T customers should consult the service for current access details.
Is ADT also adding Gemini for Home?
The report says ADT has hinted at bringing Gemini for Home features to its security systems. It does not confirm a release date or specify which features ADT may offer.
Source: theverge.com
